Consistency

Mileage: 7

Time: 1:01.00

That’s about an 8:43 mile.  I was tired when I was done, but not too terribly winded.  After several runs in a row where I just couldn’t seem to find my pace and, more importantly, couldn’t “feel” my pace at all, I really drilled this one.  I set out at a comfortable but slightly faster pace and then just waited to see what it would be at the mile marker.  I had guessed about 9:00 but came in at 8:45.  Then I just tried to nail that pace for the rest of the miles.  I could feel when I slowed down and sped up and could tell when I was on pace.  All of my middle miles were between 8:40 and 8:45 and my last mile was an 8:44.

I really like it when I can run consistently like that.  It bothers me when I take off and think I’m running 9:00s and I either run 10s or 8s, or even worse, when a 5 mile run consists of everything from a 10 to a 7:30.  I don’t want to run fast.  I just don’t want to either go out too fast and die at the end or go out too slow and put myself in a 2 minute hole.  I honestly don’t know why it matters so much to me to be consistent.  I’m only competing with myself.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

