A (near) perfect run…

Mileage: 5

Time: 46:13

Some days ya just get lucky.  All afternoon we had this odd storm system in the area.  The storms were just short of severe, dumping lots of rain and maybe rumbling a bit.  They seemed confused, all moving in different directions.  As I watched them on radar though, I had my doubts about getting a run in.

I came home and ate dinner, all the while watching the sky.  After dinner and a quick clean up, I decided to head out and try to get a run in.  It rained on me the whole way to the trailhead.  I tried to talk myself out of it…  all the way to the trailhead.  I had to make a quick stop at a grocery store and I tried to talk myself out of it…  all the way through the grocery store.  I finally shamed myself enough and convinced myself that a little rain was nothing and that I just needed to shut up and run.  Man am I glad I did.

The normally busy MKT trail was deserted.  I only saw one other person the entire time.  The second I got out of the truck, the rain stopped.  The only drips were from the trees still shedding the remnants of the earlier shower.  There was a mist on the fields that crept into the woods through which the trail runs.  As it got darker, there were birds (including a big Pileated woodpecker… neat!) and animals everywhere.  There was no wind and the temperature was about 70 degrees.  It’s been a long time since I ran into the night.  Especially one like this… it was awesome.

The only thing I remember about the run was that I had a rock in my shoe and the run ended way to soon.  I wanted to run 10 minute miles, but only ran the first one at 10 minutes.  The last one was a 7:55.  Don’t ask me why… I wasn’t paying attention.  I think I just decided to push the last mile for no particular reason.  Not only did I not check most of my splits, I ran right by 4 of the 1/2 mile markers without even noticing.  Don’t bother me… I’m running…  for the shear joy of it…  on a perfect night…  on my own personal trail…

…marathon?  …what marathon…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

