Let’s talk about time

Or… more accurately, projected times.

Is it realistic (assuming the same level of training all the way to the marathon) for me to project a time of 4 hours and 6 minutes as a target time based on yesterday’s 2 hour and 3 minute half marathon distance?

I, personally, feel that a “realistic” time is still somewhere in the 4 hour and 30 minute range, and anything faster is gravy.  But given my concerns about going out too fast and hitting the wall, I’m worried about pushing my pace.  On the other hand, I don’t want to walk off the course after the race saying “Man!  I could have run much faster.”

I realize at this point this is all just conjecture and idle musing, but I wonder, based on the training of others, what have you found?  Does your half time coincide with your full marathon time?

One of the other things I am having a difficult time doing is finding longer organized runs that fit into my training schedule.  There are plenty of runs around that are half marathons, but all of them fall on weekends where I am supposed to be doing long runs that are MORE than a half marathon.  I’m sure I will find one that fits into my short weeks, but it’s just funny that I would ever actually say “No… I can’t run that half marathon… it’s too short a race for me…”  it even seems odd to think it…!

One Response to Let’s talk about time

  1. blb says:

    I was reading your blog because I am a runner also. I have run half and whole marathons and I find that the half is not always representative of the whole time. Now that being said I also weigh in over 225 pounds or more and anything over 16 or 17 miles I tend to slow down, So take it for what it is worth.

    Good Luck.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

