I couldn’t help myself…

Mileage: 13

Time:2.03:54

Weekly Mileage: 33

Today was my long day. I was only supposed to run 12 miles. But I hit the half way point and I felt so good I just couldn’t resist tossing in an extra mile. I know… I know… Here I am worrying about others not following their training plans and then I don’t follow mine. I’m such a hypocrite…

I started off pretty slow, running 10:20s. I really usually just let my body set the pace and today it said “slow”, so that’s what I did. As I began to put in the miles, I seemed to warm up and managed to run the last 5 miles at a 9:30 pace. This course could be a little longer or a little shorter than 13 miles, but it doesn’t matter. It was 13 enough for me. It was also a gorgeous morning and I didn’t see a soul for the first 5 miles. I like that kind of solitude.

I would, however, like to thank the recreation planning gods for their forethought and intelligence. It seems my attempt at “carbo loading” left me carrying, well… a load… if you will. I thought I had taken care of this prior to the run, but about a 1/2 mile into it, I was proven painfully wrong. I went from bliss to desperation in two stomach cramps and started a panicked inventory of the local spur trails and estimated distances to potties. On pure potty finding instinct and an educated guess, I jumped off into a parking lot next to the trail and spotted what at that point in my life looked like the Arc of the Covenant, complete with ray of light and angels singing. A freezing cold, stainless steel toilet has never looked so good. Oh… and joy of joys… there was even toilet paper. Man… I love this town…

..and, ya know… once my little problem was taken care of… the stomach cramps went away and the rest of the run was beautiful.

Coach’s note: Purge your colon before you run, moron…

I also drank two big water bottles full of water and managed to remember to drink at each mile. I took one Hammer Gel at 6 miles (which REALLY helped). My two bottle runner’s fanny pack really seems to work for me. I just have to wear it a bit high so it doesn’t bounce. Seems I might be slowly getting the hang of this stuff…!

3 Responses to I couldn’t help myself…

  1. atlantarunner says:

    That post made me laugh out loud! “Arc of the Covenant, complete with ray of light and angels singing.” Been there, felt that!
    All the best,
    Paul

  2. dabigleap says:

    …embarrassed grin…!

  3. runlikemad says:

    I love the helpful hints other runners have. I’m marking, “Purge your colon before you run, moron…” near the top of the list 🙂

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

