The wrong way…

… to achieve a goal.

I have had this mid-range goal of getting below 200 pounds for what seems like forever.  I hopped on the scale this morning and it stopped at 198.  ooh… yay me…

What a year of exercise and eating better couldn’t do, a stomach flu accomplished in 4 days…

See, I had been stuck at 202 pounds for about a month.  And, even as my intake stayed the same and my mileage increased,  I couldn’t break through 200 no matter how hard I tried.  It’s just irritating (even though I know this is temporary and as soon as I re-hydrate completely I’ll be back above 200) to see my weight go below 200 when I’m doing nothing more than… well… you know…  for four days…

It is easy to see why some people see “purging” or using diuretics as an answer to weight loss.  It definitely works.  It’s a stupid idea and it could kill you… but it works…

As for me, I am going to tiptoe lightly around the fridge for a few more days.  It seems my tummy is happiest right now on liquids only.  Any solid foods awaken the monster in my gut and turn me into Captain Thunderpants, so it’s broth, crackers and thinned gruel for me for a while.  Oh… and water… LOTS of water.

I am going to try again to go for a run today.  Yesterday evening… not so much…  My stomach wouldn’t allow for more than about 5 minutes at a time on the treadmill, so I had to bag it.  It’s a beautiful day (of course…) so maybe that will help.

One Response to The wrong way…

  1. atlantarunner says:

    Hi there. Been following your blog for the past couple weeks since I first discovered it. Sorry you had to miss your 10K, but I hope you’re feeling better. You were wise to skip the 10K and get healthy again. Best wishes on your further training and weight loss goals. You are well on your way.
    –Paul

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

