A “bad”, good thing…

…Or is it a “good”, bad thing… I dunno…

For the first time in a very long time… I am FORCED to do something that I really HATE to do… I need to go shopping for new pants… However, for the first time in an even longer time, the reason for this is because the pants I’m wearing now are just too BIG to fit anymore. Now, I’m not petite by any means and I certainly have a long way to go to get back to the 29s and 30s that I used to wear back in the day. At the same time, though, the 40s I am wearing now bunch at the top like a good pair of clown pants and I can take every pair of pants I wear (except one) off without unbuttoning them. No matter how much I hitch up the old “gitalong”, they constantly droop and drop… not that you needed to know that…

Is this a good problem? Of course it is… but I think, at least for me, it is a double edged sword. On the one hand, I am proud of the fact that I have lost a substantial amount of weight. But on the other hand, I can’t help but being a bit disappointed in myself for falling into this condition in the first place. I can remember at one point actually thinking “Hey, that’s why they make bigger sizes…” when I couldn’t fit into the smaller sizes of pants anymore. That’s sad. I also really don’t want to go shopping now for pants because if my goal is to lose 35 MORE pounds, these pants will only be useful for about another 6 months and then I will have to replace them. Kind of a waste of money.

It’s odd that, when I should be celebrating my success, I’m kinda down about the whole thing. I feel like I kinda wasted about the last 10 years and now I’m paying for it with my wallet. I know, this the wrong way to think about it, but how much more productive would I be now if I had taken care of myself back then… Hindsight sucks…

Anyway, I’m going to run 6-8 miles today. It’s MUCH cooler and a bit breezy but it should be a pretty run. Hopefully that will improve my poopy attitude…!

One Response to A “bad”, good thing…

  1. cavalaxis says:

    Wow. It’s like the Brotherhood training report from afar! So very cool! Makes me want to get up and… uh… walk to the printer. Or something. 😉

    Miss you guys, like you wouldn’t *believe*.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

