Eating my way to the starting line..

As I start down the many miles of path that will hopefully eventually lead me to the starting line of the Kansas City Marathon, I am trying to take some of the lessons learned from my only other marathon experience and apply them to my new experience.  I think the two most notable lessons are the need to hydrate better during any run over 3 miles and focusing more on my weight.

I think my experience in the LA Marathon would have been made much better if I had trained to drink more and really TRIED to lose more weight instead of just relying on the extra miles to burn it off.  I think the pain I experienced was mostly due dehydration and the failure to eat properly.  I also think I should have been lighter at the start of the race.  I was at about 175.  I think about 165 would have been much better.

I am going to really try to encorporate drinking practice into my runs.  I know this sounds silly, but I found it to be one of the more difficult things to do.  The first several times I tried to drink at aid stations in practice races I either choked on the water and spit it out or I spilled it all over myself.  Either way, I didn’t get enough and I think it hurt me.  I tried drinking out of a Camelback, which worked better but the technology of the time at Camelback was really focused on mountain biking, not the bouncing of running.  I found my Camelback kept me hydrated but the thin straps nearly sawed my arms off, leaving very painful abrasions on my chest and armpits.  I have a new generation Camelback with softer, wider straps and a chest clip now, so I might try it, but I may also have to try one of the new belts with the smaller bottles.  Either way, I have to find SOMETHING that works for hydration otherwise I’m wasting my time.

As for losing weight and getting down below that magic 170 mark… I’ve got a long way to go.  I drank my last beer on Saturday night and said goodbye to a dear old friend, brownies, last night as well.  Given my track record of only losing about 30 pounds a year so far, I’m not convinced I can make it.  But I’m gonna give it one heckuva try.  It’s funny that I would be more worried about being able to get to my target weight than I would be about running the mileage but it’s true.  I definitely believe I can run marathon distance… I just don’t know if I can get to marathon weight in time.  And this all complicates slightly the fact that I have to pre-register by the end of June.  If I haven’t lost AT LEAST half of the weight I need to by then, I will have to seriously consider backing off on the marathon until the weight is gone.

Maybe this sounds weird and like I am obsessing on the wrong thing, but I just feel that if I am going to set such a lofty goal as running a marathon, I need to do it right and do it SAFELY.  I don’t think my 40 year old body needs the stress of trying to run marathon distance with so much extra weight.  It will be great when that day comes and I blog about how wonderful my marathon experience was.  I just don’t want to do it from a hospital bed because I overtaxed my body and did serious damage needlessly.  It’s not like there is only one marathon a year.  And, who knows, if I do it right, maybe I can run another one.  If I’m stupid about it, that will never happen.

Anyway, lots of veggies and carbs, a little protein and an ocean of water will be consumed in the next 6 months in a desperate attempt to make all this happen.  Whether I ever actually run a marathon or not, increased exercise and improved eating habits can’t do anything but help, so I win either way!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

