Eat and run

One of my biggest worries with my job and running is to find places to run when I am on the road. I will be honest and admit that I tend to indulge/imbibe a bit too much when I travel. A nasty habit that I plan on changing. I am currently manning a booth at a conference in south central Missouri at the Lake of the Ozarks. I am staying at an average resort called Tan-Tar-A. For runners, though, you might want to check this place out if you are ever in this neck of the sticks. I just went on a 30 minute run that nearly killed me. There is a 5K course marked on the maps the hotel gives out so I decided to run it and add a little extra to it. The scenery is beautiful as it winds UP and DOWN through the cabins and DOWN by the lake and then back UP to the top of the golf course and then UP and DOWN around some homes and then UP and… oh… you get the point.

STEEP… that’s a good word for it. It’s been a long time since I ran on a paved road that I had to CONTROL my DESCENT or I would crash in a heap at the bottom in the woods… Fun… but hell on your quads. And brutal because every step down you take, there is a little voice inside your head saying… “dude… you gotta go back up this…” I know there are hills quite like this in Columbia, I’ve just been too chicken to run them. Here… didn’t have a choice. It was a great run, though. I have to come back here in two weeks so I get to run it again… cool!

As for the “eating poorly” portion of being on the road. That is a bit tougher to deal with. Being trapped at a hotel with only the fare on restaraunt menus to eat makes it tough. My weak will power and deep desire to eat anything deep fried make it tougher. And then there is my love of beer… and the vast quantities to be had in the sports bar downstairs… See what I mean? I have been able to resist the booze but picking the good food out of a resort menu is a bit “needle in a haystack” ish. The problem with most of this type of food is that the resorts cater to luxury. Which usually means decadence as a side dish. Want something healthy like salmon or chicken? No problem. You can either get it deep fried or sauteed in butter. Want some veggies with that? Would you like them sauteed in olive oil or smothered in cheese? Even the salads come pre-drenched in dressing (no… you can’t get it on the side…). Oh… and asking for things like bananas and power bars get a good chuckle out of the staff and not much more. Unless you want those bananas flambe or …umm… split…

…*sigh*…

Since I come here a lot I have started to pick through the menus enough that I can find at least a few things that are edible. If I smile nice and bat my long eyelashes at the waitress I can even convince one of the restaraunts here to grill my meat. This part of the whole “lose weight” thingy is actually the hardest for me. Waving a big steak in my face with a side of fries and beans is bad enough, but it’s actually healthier than most of the rest of the stuff on the menu. Which is sad…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

