Plateau Philosophy

I think I am at a point or “plateau” in my training again. I can kind of “feel” that there is more to give, but I just can’t quite get there. Perhaps it is my weight that is holding me back. Something is… I ran 4 miles yesterday and tried to push the pace down to an 8 minute mile. I ran 3 miles at 8:20 pace about 2 weeks ago and I have been training diligently since then, so I thought this would be doable. I ended up running 2 miles at 8:30 and the last two around 9:00. My legs still hurt a bit from the long run and my lungs, surprisingly, failed me too. I usually don’t have to work hard to breathe, but I did this time.

I think, realistically, I need to expect a bit less from my body at this point. Yes, I can still push, but when I was running 7:00 miles, I was 11 years younger and 30 pounds lighter. I can’t fix the age thing… but the fact that I’m running at all is a good thing and I think that if I just keep running, the weight will come off and my times will come down. Can I hit 7:00 miles again? …who cares…? The more important thing is what size shorts I’m in when I get there!

I think I’m going to run an easy 4 tonight and then have fun at the St. Paddy’s Day 5K tomorrow. The weather forecast has gone from “sunny and cooler” (temps in the 40s) to “cloudy and cold” (temps in the high 20s) with a 20% chance of snow… Figures…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

