Remember why you are doing this…

I think I am just going to take a break today and let myself heal a bit.  The blisters are still there and I suppose I could band aid them up and go… but if I switch my break days and run tomorrow instead of today, I think that will be better.

I used to get so caught up in “training” when preparing for an event or practicing for a big game that often times I made myself more susceptible to injury OR… even worse… I would try to push through a “small” injury and end up making it MUCH bigger.

I have to keep telling myself that I am not “training” anymore as much as I am simply working toward a fitness goal.  Things like speed and PB’s are nowhere near as important as they used to be.  I am just happy to be running again and, more importantly, I want to KEEP running for life.  Overtraining or training hurt is just stupid.  Oh… and by the way… I kinda need to go to work tomorrow because I’m certainly not getting PAID to run…

When I get down on myself for not running every day (like I spent the morning doing…) I have to keep reminding myself of my ultimate goals.  My number one goal is to get down under 170 pounds (which means I will have lost 70 pounds!).  My second goal is to make exercise, preferrably running, a daily routine for life.  It’s not all going to happen at once.  And it certainly won’t happen at all if I beat myself to death because I’m in too big a hurry to get there.

So tonight, even though it is a beautiful 80 degree day and it’s supposed to rain tomorrow… I am going to rest and not worry about it.  Thursday and Friday I’ll get back at it again and then Saturday is the St. Patty’s Day 5K!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

