OK… Maybe the water isn’t so bad… ;)

Took the day off yesterday to spend Mother’s Day with my DW and family.  Went to an awesome state park in Columbia, had a picnic, explored a big cave, saw some bats, hiked around a bit.  It was really fun.  My legs thanked me for the rest and let me go up and down the stairs on the trail without holding on to the railing…

This morning I got back in the pool for the first time since the triathlon.  Wasn’t sure how I would feel but ended up really enjoying the swim.  I know this may not be magic to anyone who has been swimming for a while, I think I “got” something today.  I think I have been trying to overpower the water with my swim stroke.  I have been pulling too hard.  There seems to be a balance between a good firm pull stroke and pulling too hard.  If you pull too hard, you can almost feel your hand vibrate through the water or it is difficult to keep your hand on track through the water.  It wants to wave back and forth.  So today I spent most of my workout starting out slow and experimenting with how hard I could pull before I got to this point.  I gradually accelerated, trying to keep just behind the breaking point.  It really takes a while to get the feel for it, but when I “felt” the water in my hand as I pulled through my stroke, I went MUCH faster than if I just pulled as hard as I could through the water.  Like about 5 seconds per 50.  And with MUCH less effort.

So the things I am working on in the pool between now and Innsbrook on June 6th are:

  1. RELAX in the water
  2. Breathe on both sides
  3. Kick as little as possible
  4. Think streamlined and keep your abs tight
  5. Pull smooth and feel the water “in” my hand, not flowing through it.

These may seem obvious or silly but I’m still new so it’s magic to me. AND… with less perceived effort I was able to knock 20 seconds off my 200 time.  That would have been almost a minute improvement in the triathlon…

Training this week will be around the weather.  Today is too beautiful to waste so I’m going to ride tonight but the rest of the week looks sketchy, weather wise.  So I will try to get a couple of runs in and swim a couple more times but bike time will be all up to Ma’ Nature.  Still hoping for warmer weather in the next few weeks so I can get an open water swim or two in before Innsbrook.  I may also try to find a 5K around Memorial Day to run.  I really think I can blow away my PR in the 5K (since I almost beat it in the triathlon).  It would be fun to try.

Comments are closed.

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

fit4365

Year 3 building consistency

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Run, Hemingway, Run!

Marc Hemingway: Going from couch potato to runner bean...!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Just another WordPress.com site

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

fitnessphoenixx

My blog about fitness, health, nutrition and weight loss. Please join me in my journey to healthy living!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 326 other followers

