What’s the “secret”?

Distance: 4 mi

Time: 31:55

Early morning CMC run today.  They were kind to us who were recovering from parties, late nights and overeating by giving us a short route today.  Although I did none of the above, I still took the short route because of the half marathon on Saturday.  Tomorrow is a travel day so this is my “taper” for this event…!

I’m hoping to come in just under 2 hours, but, again, time really isn’t the important thing here.  As I think back to where I was a year ago at this time, if you had told me then that I would be running a half marathon in a year… no way…  I weighed 230 pounds at that point and could not run 2 miles.  My mile times were around 12 minutes unless there was a speed bump or some pebbles to go over, then it dropped to 13s.  Now I’m looking at running 6 miles with the nine minute pace group and then picking it up to 8:30s for the last 6 miles.  I tip the scales at between 189 and 192 now on most days and I’m still losing weight, slowly but surely.  Not a bad year…

I was listening to people talk/bitch about weight and exercise, etc. at the local run I was at yesterday.  One lady laid on this 5 minute tirade, going on about how she couldn’t lose weight and South Beach didn’t work for her and exercise was too hard and how it hurt and she didn’t have time, etc.  It made me mad.  I had to walk away or I was going to tell her to shut up.  Partly because I hate excuses.  Mostly because a few years ago… I was just like her…

I’ve had lots of people ask me for my “secret” for losing weight and exercising.
Here’s the secret…  There isn’t one.

It sucks.  It’s no fun.  It hurts.  It takes time away from your family and friends. It makes you doubt yourself.  It makes you cry.  It makes you mad.  It makes you selfish.  It takes away your comforts.  It exposes your weaknesses, both physical and character.  It takes away your favorite pizza (at least on a daily basis, anyway).  It humbles you.  It makes you look at yourself in the mirror and on the scale and in your favorite jeans in a way that you may have never looked at yourself before.  It makes you wonder what you were thinking… daily.
It DOES NOT involve “dieting”, pills, purging, fasting or any other stupid ideas.

It DOES demand absolute attention, dedication, hard work, sacrifice and an unholy amount of will power to fight off all those frickin’ excuses.

It is, most simply, a lifestyle change.

You were expecting something different?

Then you are not ready…

Losing weight and getting in shape is a lifetime commitment and you have to accept it as your new way of life, forever.  Until you can make that commitment, don’t even start.  You will fall into that category of people who are perpetually “Starting” diets and exercise programs and will be continually frustrated by your lack of progress and constant setbacks.  Commit to it first.  Believe in it first.  Then do it…  forever.  This is not something you can stop once you’ve started it without adverse consequences.

So is it worth it?

Yes.  Without question.  It is the best thing you can do for yourself, your family, your friends… but mostly yourself.

So what do I get out of it?

Energy.  Clarity.  Fitness.  Health.  Motivation.  New friends.  New goals.  Smaller clothes.  Fewer health problems.  Less doctor visits.

In short, you get your life back, only better… just… without as much pizza…

One Response to What’s the “secret”?

  1. [...] I read several running blogs on a regular basis and DaBigLeap is one of them. Just wanted to share this with you. I’m not trying to lose weight, but I found this post tremendously inspiring. Not [...]

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

Fit for 365

Year three, building consistency

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Run, Hemingway, Run!

Marc Hemingway: Going from couch potato to runner bean...!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Just another WordPress.com site

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

fitnessphoenixx

My blog about fitness, health, nutrition and weight loss. Please join me in my journey to healthy living!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 323 other followers

